Ted Kyle to Receive Obesity Society Public Service Award

June 20, 2012 — The Obesity Society announced the recipients for their 2012 awards. Honorees include Thomas A. Wadden, PhD, who will receive the TOPS Research Achievement Award; Kevin D. Hall, PhD, who will receive the Lilly Scientific Achievement Award; John G. Kral, MD, PhD, FACS, who will receive the Mickey Stunkard Lifetime Achievement Award; James O. Hill, PhD, who will receive the George A. Bray Founders Award; and Ted Kyle, who will receive the Atkinson-Stern Award for Distinguished Public Service. The Obesity Society’s Awards Program promotes, rewards, and encourages research in the field of obesity. Awards recognize specific research achievements, major contributions to the basic science, treatment and prevention of obesity, and they serve to highlight the careers of obesity researchers. The awards carry a cash prize of $1,000 to $5,000. Honorees will receive their awards the evening of September 20, 2012, at the San Antonio Convention Center, at the Obesity Society’s 30th Annual Scientific Meeting. Find out more about the honorees in the Society’s announcement here.