Dependable Champions

Dependable Champions of the Obesity Action Coalition

Sarah BrambletteSome of the top, most dependable champions of the Obesity Action Coalition received richly deserved recognition on the closing evening of the OAC’s YWM2014 national convention Saturday night. They deserve our congratulations and appreciation for the leadership and service they provide for people affected by obesity.

OAC Member of the Year went to Sarah Bramblette for her outstanding service to OAC as an advocate, educator, and supporter for OAC’s mission, goals, and vision. This is OAC’s highest award.

Amber Huett-Garcia The OAC Chairman’s Award went to Amber Huett-Garcia for her service on the Board of Directors and especially her role as founding chair of the Your Weight Matters National Convention. This award recognizes outstanding volunteer service on the OAC National Board of Directors.

Rob Portinga The Barbara Thompson Award for Advocacy went to Rob Portinga for his role as a tireless advocate for OAC in Washington and in his local community.

Merrill Littleberry The Healthcare Provider Advocate of the Year Award went to Merrill Littleberry for her passionate and compassionate work as a therapist, educator, and advocate for people affected by obesity.

Abby Lentz The OAC Bias Buster of the Year Award went to Abby Lentz for her commitment to go above and beyond the high standards that OAC member set to fight weight bias. Her courage and commitment to tell her story and educate the public about the harm of weight bias sets an example that all should strive to follow.

The OAC Community Leader of the Year Award went to the Georgia Chapter of the ASMBS for their role in helping to restore access bariatric surgery for all of Georgia’s state employees.

The Robin Blackstone Award for Outstanding Membership Recruitment by a Physician went to two physician practices that have stood above all others in bringing new members into the OAC. Stephen G. Boyce of the New Life Center for Bariatric Surgery shared this honor with the clinicians of Rocky Mountain Associated Physicians: Sherman Smith, Steven Simper, Rodrick McKinlay, and Fielding Dunn.

Dependable Champions, photograph © hobvias sudoneighm / flickr

Subscribe by email to follow the accumulating evidence and observations that shape our view of health, obesity, and policy.